Retro basketball card with chameleon

Our 2023 Favorites

We asked our staff to list their five favorites from the past year. Here’s what they said.

Click on a name to see a list and comments.

Angela – Angie on Aux

KAROL G, Young Miko – DISPO

Bad Bunny, Young Miko – FINA

KAROL G – Amargura

Lil Yachty – drive ME crazy!

Feid, Rema – BUBALU

Anna – Pure Gold

Yusuf/Cat Stevens – King of a Land
Favorite Track: Take the World Apart 

First Aid Kit – Palomino Deluxe (Child of Summer Edition)
Favorite Track: Angel

Florence + The Machine – Dance Fever
Favorite Track: Free 

Bob Dylan- Shadow Kingdom
Favorite Track: Forever Young 

The Beatles: Now and Then 

Marie – The Lowdown

Ryan Beatty – Calico

Trousdale – Out Of My Mind

Ethan Tasch – Got Him!

Chappell Roan – The Rise and Fall of a Midwest Princess

FIZZ – The Secret to Life

Zach Matthews – Organized Noise and Sector 7 Radio

Ryan James Ford: Ripping EP – Four monster club stormers, with a touch of rave cheese, all pulled off with aplomb, and comes on lovely marbled grey vinyl. Ripping Greg (Mike Mix) is the standout tune of the lot. 

Dj Spence: Fan Needed – Two hypnotic house infused loop techno tracks, with a couple of locked grooves added in for good measure. Reminds me of the late 90s Philly sound that Ovum and 611 were putting out. Both of the full length tracks are sneaky good, and were staples of my show throughout the summer. 

PLO Man: anonymousmaterial – PLO Man is a mainstay artist on Organized Noise. This release consists of four tracks in a style that discogs nerds are labeling ambient techno. I absolutely love this release, which is usually the case with PLO Man and his label Acting Press’s output. Would work at 4am in the club or at home on your couch. 10/10 stuff. 

Tomorrow Comes The Harvest: Evolution – Jeff Mills revived TCTH for the first time since the passing of bandmate Tony Allen with a new trio whose members consist of himself, Jen-Phi Dary and Prabhu Edouard. The release contains five long-play spaced out jazz techno journeys. If you liked the Sun Ra Arkestra set at our 75th anniversary show then this one is definitely for you. 

Sandwell District: Feed Forward – This is technically a rerelease of this legendary, and incredibly rare, album. It is making my list because it has been a staple of my show for all 11 of our years on WMUH and because it features a brand new song: Surrender to The Unknown. I think I played that track for two month’s worth of broadcasts straight. If you listen to Organized Noise then you have undoubtedly heard this album at some point. 

Lindsay – Out the Roof, Music Director

Doja Cat – Scarlet

Lana del Rey – Did you Know There’s a Tunnel Under Ocean Boulevard

Dominic Fike – Sunburn

Mitski – The Land is Inhospitable and So are We 

Paramore – This is Why 

Lena – Lena’s Listening Party

Renee Rapp – Snow Angel (Deluxe)

Conan Gray – One of Your Girls

Taylor Swift – When Emma Falls in Love

Aidan Bissett – Supernova

Chappell Roan – Guilty Pleasure

DJ Regular – Hedonistic Predilection

TEKE::TEKE – Hagata

Melenas – Ahora

Vanishing Twin – Afternoon X

El Michels Affair & Black Thought – Glorious Game

Deerhoof – Miracle Level

Riley – Circenses, Station Manager

Unreal Unearth (new album by Hozier):
A beautiful work from an insanely talented artist. It’s depressing, uplifting, powerful, and amazing.

Noah Kahan: A recent find for me — love him

Dua Lipa: Barbie movie

Bruce Springsteen (duh)

DJ Downtown – Take It Downtown

The Beths – Expert in a Dying Field (Deluxe)

Carly Rae Jepsen – The Loveliest Time

Aisle 5 – Moment Found!

Sarah Noel – Offerings

Olivia Rodrigo – GUTS

Harry – Livingroom Sessions

Top 5 Songs Released in 2023!

Benson Boone – What Was

Sophia James – First Time Around

Sam Fischer – Hard To Love

Walker Burroughs – Breathe

Lawrence – i’m confident that i’m insecure

Emma – Your Dose of Nostalgia, Program Director

Petals on the Moon – Wasia Project

While You Were Sleeping – Laufey

People Pleaser – Aidan Bissett

Glue Song – beabadoobee

poster boy – lyn lapid

Sheck – The Dungeon

Asinhell – Desert Of Doom

Baroness – Choir

Beastmaker – Ritual

Metallica – Lux Aeterna

Overkill – The Surgeon

Paul – Sine Qua Non, General Manager

bar Italia – Tracey Denim

Fever Ray – Radical Romantics

Peter Gabriel – i/o

the Golden Dregs – Of Grace & Dignity

Yo La Tengo – This Stupid World

Leave a Reply